On the 7th May 1910, the newly formed Northern Branch of the New South Wales Rugby Football League set down their first round of fixtures in the Newcastle competition. The first round was played on Saturday 14th May 1910 with four clubs entering the competition – Central, North, South and West.  Central Newcastle, the ‘Blue & White Butcher Boys’ won the first premiership run by the Newcastle League in 1910 defeating South Newcastle 13-4.


The Butcher Boys have produced many international players including Clive Churchill, Wally Prigg, Bob Marjoribanks, Phil Hawthorne, and Mark Sargent.


Central won the Newcastle 1st Grade Premiership seven times in 1910, 1921, 1928, 1930, 1937, 1939 and 1949. The latest Club Championship was won in 2018.


The Ladies League Tag competition was formed by Newcastle Rugby League in 2017 which was then adopted by the Sydney competition and renamed to Blues Tag. Central Blues Tag are superb athletes and highly competitive, rarely losing a game. In 2019 they were the Minor and Major Premiers, beating Souths in the Grand Final 10-Nil.


Major Sponsors – Central Leagues Club, Healthe Care Australia, Ainsworth, O’Neill’s Tyre & Autocare, Central Charlestown Touch, Ryan Ansell Investment Solutions, deWitt Consulting, Gateshead Traffic Solutions, The Cleaver Cub, Jodie Harrison MP,  Charlestown Steering Services, Adams Family Meats, Tax Today, NewCoast Lubricants, Orica, Tim Pryor Reinforcing, Bella Cleaning, J. Rayner Screens and Doors, DFK Crosbie Accounting, Turnbull Hill Lawyers, Doc’s Pharmacy, Charlestown Vending Services, Sharpe’s Physio.


For further information contact:


President Heath Anderson 0415 155 820
Secretary Mick Lucas 0437 272 023
Vice President/Gear Steward Dave Saxby 0420 425 293